Home | Our Achievements | KS2


KS2 Assessments

This section contains information about how your child's progress at school is formally assessed, explains Key Stage levels and how the schools will keep you informed.

How is progress measured?

During Key Stages 1 and 2 (Years 1-6) each subject has a series of six levels. These are used to measure your child’s progress compared with other pupils of the same age across the country.

The levels are:

Level 2-5 in Key Stage 1

(Years 3-6, ages 7-11) Most pupils are at Level 4 by the end of Key Stage 2

Level 1-3 in Key Stage 1

(Years 1 and 2, ages 4-7) Most pupils are at Level 2 by the end of Key Stage 1

Formal assessments

Children are formally assessed at the end of Key Stages 1 and 2 (these tests are sometimes called SATs - Standard Assessment Tasks). At the end of Key Stage 1 (Year 2, aged 7) they’ll be assessed by their teacher, with the help of informal tests in literacy, maths and science.

At the end of Key Stage 2 (Year 6, aged 11) they’ll be assessed through national tests in reading and maths and their teacher will assess their attainment in writing and science. You’ll be sent their test results.

How you are informed

You’ll receive a report at least once a year from your child’s school.

The report will cover the results of any tests your child has taken, if they’re at an appropriate Key Stage, and teacher assessment levels for their attainment. At the end of each Key Stage, you’ll also receive the results for all children in your child’s age group in the school, and the national results for the previous year.
  • Brighter Futures Academy Trust
  • Backhold Lane,Siddal,
  • Halifax,HX3 9DL
  • Email: admin@brighterfuturesmat.org.uk
  • Tel: 01422 354976
Schoolbox Login Admin Log In